Youth and Community: Books & e-Books

Books about the same subject are assigned the same shelfmark number. You'll find the number on the spine of each book. Here is a selection of shelfmarks for Youth and Community:

Community Development 307

Youth Clubs 369.4

Youth Crime 364.36

Youth Services 362.7

Youth Subcultures 306.1

Youth Unemployment 331.34137

Kimberlin Library's Special Collections comprises the Archive and Rare Books. There are several collections with relevance to youth and community work:

Centre for Social Action (reference D/050): papers of the Centre for Social Action which is based in the School of Applied Social Studies at De Montfort University. The Centre supports and facilitates research, evaluation, training and consultancy in health, community work and social care.  You can see what's included in the collection on ArchivesHub.

National Youth Agency (reference Y/001): The National Youth Agency (NYA) was formally launched in October 1991. The NYA was responsible for the development of youth work curriculum and training development, the endorsement of youth and community work training courses, the accreditation of youth worker staff development policies, the dissemination of information about best practice, assisting with policy development, promotion of partnership working between the voluntary and statutory sectors of youth service, and securing a national focus for the support of youth work. You can see what's included in the collection on ArchivesHub.

National Youth Agency library: Rare Books holds the former Library of the NYA. In the Library catalogue, look for the classification “National Youth Collection” and the location “Kimberlin Special Collections”

Youth Affairs Unit (reference A13/020): The Youth Affairs Unit was part of the School of Applied Social Sciences at DMU. The collection includes administration, correspondence, research notes, reports, evaluations of various local authority youth services, studies of the Sure Start and Connexions schemes, and the papers of Malcolm Payne, former Director of the Unit.

Rural Youth Network (reference A13/020): The Rural Youth Network was a national forum open to those working with youth in rural areas and aimed to establish a national arena for creative thinking on the specific issues facing youth in the countryside. The papers include newsletters, reports, policies, minutes of meetings, conference papers, articles and publications by RYN members.

For more information about accessing Special Collections please see here 

Please let us know if there is a particular book or DVD you need for your research or studies by completing this form

Below is a selection of new books that were added to the library collection recently..

Here are some e-books that we recently purchased: