LibGuides: Speech and Language Therapy: Databases

Starting points for research

Databases are useful resources to search for good quality subject-specific research and find journal articles on a topic. . Here are some useful subject databases. Unless otherwise specified, you will need your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email) to access them within and outside the university.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This international database covers journal articles (and also some books and theses) relating to nursing and applied health.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

Further research

These are some more databases that you may find useful in your research

Linguistics Database
On Proquest Central platform.
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers: Anthropological linguistics, Applied linguistics, Descriptive linguistics, Discourse analysis, Language (pathological and normal), Learning disabilities, Nonverbal communication, Phonetics, Phonology, Psycholinguistics.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Available through Kanopy: 23 educational videos supporting early years professionals created by Siren Films.
Access the Siren Films videos here. When off campus, please click on the Log in to Montfort icon. You will then need to enter your DMU Single Sign On username and password to access the Kanopy site. If you have previously logged in as a DMU registered member then you may not be required to sign in again.
LWW Health Library for Speech, Language and Hearing This link opens in a new window
This includes e-book access to:
Stuttering: An Integrated Approach to Its Nature and Treatment, 5th edn by Barry Guitar
Treatment of Stuttering: Established and Emerging Interventions by Barry Guitar, Rebecca McCauley
and other relevant e-books.
Academic Search This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Academic Search database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
AgeInfo This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database of over 50,000 books articles and reports from the specialist collection on Social Gerontology held at the Centre for Policy on Ageing. The site provides information about organisations active in the field of old age and ageing and an international calendar of events about old age and ageing.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Unique source of reliable, up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care, including evidence-based systematic reviews and clinical trials. No username or password required in the United Kingdom.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
Topics covered include all levels of education and all educational specialties as well as areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals, for more than 500 books, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Medical database searched via the US National Library of Medicine. Unrestricted access.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of psychology, including psychiatry, pharmacology, and applications in nursing, education, management and criminal justice. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, reports and dissertations from 1887 to date.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to full text journals published by Elsevier. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
Look for the green 'subscribed' icons which indicate full-text availability.
Zetoc This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from 20,000 research journals and 16,000 conference proceedings published per year and held in the British Library from 1993 to date.
Includes an email alerting service, to enable you to keep up-to-date with relevant new articles and papers. All subject fields are covered.

Searching databases

Worksheet for searching CINAHL Plus with Full Text and other EBSCO databases
Worksheet for searching Scopus
Preparing your Literature Search
Use this if you have an assignment or you are thinking about subjects for a dissertation/major project. It can be used to unpick a question you have been given or help you to shape a question.

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
A guide to the meaning, pronunciation, usage and history of words from across the English-speaking world.

Speech and Language Therapy: Databases

Starting points for research

Further research

Searching databases

Oxford English Dictionary

Kimberlin Library

Connect with the Library