LibGuides: Social Work: Databases

Starting points for research

Databases are useful resources to search for good quality subject-specific research and find journal articles on a topic. Here are some useful subject databases. Unless otherwise specified, you will need your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email) to access them within and outside the university.

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Academic Search database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Further research

These are some more databases that you may find useful in your research. Some have broad coverage of the social sciences, whereas others focus on specific topics relevant to Social Work. Further information on coverage is provided with each database.

AgeInfo This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database of over 50,000 books articles and reports from the specialist collection on Social Gerontology held at the Centre for Policy on Ageing. The site provides information about organisations active in the field of old age and ageing and an international calendar of events about old age and ageing.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of psychology, including psychiatry, pharmacology, and applications in nursing, education, management and criminal justice. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, reports and dissertations from 1887 to date.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This international database covers journal articles (and also some books and theses) relating to nursing and applied health.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
Social Care Online This link opens in a new window
This site will no longer be updated from January 2023

Collection of information and research on all aspects of social care - from fostering, to mental health, to human resources etc. Provides good access to grey literature e.g. government and charity reports. Unrestricted access.
To use all the features of Social Care Online you will need to set up a free account with the site. This is separate from your DMU Single Sign On account.

CareKnowledge
Database of health and social care topics. Includes journal articles from a range of journals as well as reports written by Care Knowledge.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
Topics covered include all levels of education and all educational specialties as well as areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals, for more than 500 books, and for numerous education-related conference papers.

Lecturer Recommended Journals

These are some of the top Journals recommended by your lecturers. Each link takes you to the publication finder, from where you need to select a link under 'Full text access'.

British Journal of Social Work
Journal of Social Work
Social Work Education
International Social Work
Qualitative Social Work: Research and Practice
International Journal of Social Welfare
European Journal of Social Work
Journal of Social Policy
Child Abuse & Neglect
Child & Family Social Work
Adoption & Fostering
Groupwork

Why use journals?

Use journals to find:

useful information, research and discussions
different view points from different authors
current information as journals are published quicker than books.

Help searching by topic

These guides below cover basic through to advanced search techniques.

This guide will walk you through a literature search and review.

Literature Search and Review

These guides will introduce you to advanced ways of searching.

Useful Journals by Subject

To find all journals, use the Publication Finder (available from the library homepage under the search bar)

Lists of Peer Reviewed Journals:

Social Work: Databases