Schools' Visits: Free online resources

Google books

Find full-text access to books.  The advanced setting will allow you to refine your search to ebooks only.

Directory of open access books

Links to free ebooks.

Companies House

Provides some free company information

YouGov

UK Government information and profiles

YouGov profiles lite

Provides some interesting if light demographics data

Company Spotlight

Company Spotlight is PrecisionIR's website providing Annual Reports for the world's top publicly traded companies. They also have aggregated content (video, PowerPoint, Webcasts, and more) for over 24,000 companies.

Advertising Association

Represents agencies, brands and media promoting the role, rights and responsibilities of advertising and its impact on individuals, the economy and society. There is also links to Credos their advertising think-tank with downloadable reports on issues related to advertising.

Advertising Standards Authority

The Advertising Standards Authority is the independent body set up by the advertising industry to police the rules laid down in the advertising codes. The latest investigations, adjudications and research are downloadable from the site.

Kompass

Kompass is a well-known and reliable business to business global trade directory. Simple or advanced searches on products and companies are possible. Basic information is freely accessible. More detailed information is available on a subscription or pay per view service.

The Thomas Register

Comprehensive information on manufacturers and suppliers of products in the USA. There is little or no financial data, just detailed product information with a Product News section with articles and market news on the latest innovations.

Morningstar

Covers some free financial information

Google Scholar

A scholarly search tool.  Articles that are freely available will include a link to the full-text

ResearchGate

Researchers can make versions of their research freely available where publisher licences permit. ResearchGate has no connection with DMU and individual authors are themselves responsible for uploading the correct and legitimate version of their articles.

Academia.edu

Researchers can make versions of their research freely available where publisher licences permit. Academia.edu has no connection with DMU and individual authors are themselves responsible for uploading the correct and legitimate version of their articles.

Directory of open access journals

Search for articles within journals that are open access and provide freely available content.

DORA

DMU's repository including access to journal articles and other research carried out by members of the university.  Access to the full-text is free where publishers allow.

CORE

Search across repositories, like DORA, at other universities

JSTOR register and read

Read a restricted number of articles for free

Plugins are available that will automatically check for free copies of articles you've found online.

• Google Scholar button: If you find a citation for an article (but no link to the full text), you can click on the button to find out whether the article is available anywhere else.  
• Unpaywall:  This looks for articles that are open access or uploaded by the paper's authors. Whenever you come across a paper whose full text is freely available, a green open padlock will open on the side of the web page. 

All plugins are available for Google Chrome and for some versions of Firefox. They can be installed from the Chrome Web store and the Add-ons for Firefox page.