LibGuides: Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical and Cosmetic Science: Databases

What are databases?

Library databases are online resources you can search to find reliable information from trusted sources. Databases can be general or subject specific and can include a wide range of content including full text journal articles, ebooks, reports, abstracts, conference proceedings etc.

Library Search is a database of databases and allows you to search the content of most databases in one go.

Databases

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Academic Search database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
BioMed Central (BMC) This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central publishes 228 peer-reviewed open access journals. Unrestricted access.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This international database covers journal articles (and also some books and theses) relating to nursing and applied health.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Unique source of reliable, up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care, including evidence-based systematic reviews and clinical trials. No username or password required in the United Kingdom.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to full text journals published by Elsevier. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
Look for the green 'subscribed' icons which indicate full-text availability.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
Europe PubMed Central (Medline) This link opens in a new window
A free information resource for biomedical and health researchers. Unrestricted access.
You will need to create a free account with the site to save search queries. This is separate from your DMU Single Sign On account. Alternatively you can sign into the site with external services, including ORCID and Twitter.

British Pharmacopoeia

British Pharmacopoeia This link opens in a new window
To access the BP site, please select De Montfort University from the institutional drop-down menu. Please select the first DMU option, not the second DMU NHS entry. You will then be asked to log in using your DMU Single Sign On credentials.

Up-to-date, authoritative resource on standards for medicinal substances and pharmaceutical products in the UK: descriptions of drugs, dose rates, indications and contra-indications.

Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical and Cosmetic Science: Databases

What are databases?

Databases

British Pharmacopoeia

Kimberlin Library

Connect with the Library