LibGuides: Public Policy and Government inc. Housing: Useful Websites

Evaluating Information

Wherever you get your information from it is important that you evaluate the quality of the information. There are many factors that you need to consider when assessing the quality of the information, such as currency, the authority of the writer ...

Here is a link to the Information Source Evaluation Matrix (click on picture), a useful guide that takes you through the factors you need to consider to assess the quality of information you are relying on.

Central and Local Government

Gov.uk
Your starting point for finding UK government information.
Government Alerts
Use the filters to customise the announcements you want to receive on government information and publications by email or RSS.
Local Government Association
A politically-led, cross-party organisation that works on behalf of councils to ensure local government has a strong, credible voice with national government.

Official Publications

UK Legislation
Government Publications
Government Departments and Organisations
Hansard
UK Parliament Research Briefings
Analysis and research on a variety of topics produced by UK Parliament
Historical Cabinet Papers

Useful Housing Websites

Further sources of government information relevant to Housing are listed on the Useful Websites tab.

Chartered Institute of Housing
Information about the Institute, housing policy and careers in housing, alongside news and publications.
National Housing Federation
Organisation representing social housing providers, such as Housing Associations, across the UK. Its website covers news, policy and publications.
Better Housing
Briefing papers, resources and weblinks from the Race Equality Foundation providing evidence on inequalities around social housing services and identifying good practice.
Department for Communities and Local Government
The department which sets policy on supporting local government, communities and neighbourhoods, regeneration, housing, planning, building and the environment.
Planning Portal
The Planning Portal covers UK planning information and services online, including information for the general public, planning professionals and government users.
UK Data Service
The UK Data Service provides access to high quality social and economic data, including the English Housing Survey.

Digimap

Digimap allows you to view and print Ordnance Survey maps of any location in Great Britain at a set of defined scales.

Single Sign-on and registration are required.

Digimap

Statistics and Data

National Statistics
The major site for UK government statistics: provides averages and overviews.
Statistics at MHCLG
Statistics from the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government.
Census Data
Overview of data available from the 2011 census and information on census data from other years.
UK Data Service
National service for in-depth economic and social data. Single Sign-on and registration required.
Full Fact
Full Fact is an independent UK charity that checks facts on a range of topics, including health issues and political statements.

Think Tanks

Some key think tanks are listed below.

There is no comprehensive directory of these organisations, but Wikipedia provides a list of of UK think tanks which links you to their websites.

Centre for Policy Studies
Independent centre-right think tank creating policy to "limit the role of the state, to encourage enterprise and to enable the institutions of society to flourish."
Demos
Independent think tank which "challenges the traditional, 'ivory tower' model of policymaking by giving a voice to people and communities." It currently funds projects investigating the future of the centre-right and centre-left.
Fabian Society
Left-of-centre think tank, the goals of which include promoting "greater equality of power, wealth and opportunity" and "the value of collective action and public service".
Institute for Public Policy Research
Independent centre-left think tank which aims to "produce rigorous research and innovative policy ideas for a fair, democratic and sustainable world".

News

Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers selected from the British Library's collections, including the Leicester Chronicle, from 1840-1900.
Times Digital Archive (1785-2019) This link opens in a new window
Access to full text of The Times newspaper from 1785 to 2019.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Public Policy and Government inc. Housing: Useful Websites