Nursing & Midwifery: Useful Websites

FRCA based anaesthetic resource for healthcare professionals with links to books, articles and other resources

The Department of Health provides strategic leadership for public health, the NHS and social care in England. Reports, legislation and consultations are all available on this website.

Guidance and learning materials for students on HCPC accredited courses.

This is the latest operational version of the Leicester City, Leicestershire and Rutland Local Safeguarding Children Boards Procedures Manual

Funds research into improving human health, from lab-based science to clinical trials, working closely with the NHS and the UK Health Departments.

Grey Literature is any publication created outside recognised academic or commercial outlets and difficult to classify (e.g. policy documents and organisational reports). This is a searchable collection of healthcare-related grey literature.

This brings together open access and NHS OpenAthens authenticated resources. It has a search box with connected to Browzine which gives access to DMU content (you may have to be on Campus or logged onto the VPN)

The UK professional body for Nursing and Midwifery

Searchable database indexing and providing download access to patient experience research, with UK, topic and date filters. Includes a waiting list tracker searchable via condition and comparison by trust; and Healthwatch which collates feedback on health and social care.

International, collaborative database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence. Searchable in 9 languages.

UK government funded website providing plain English summaries of NIHR-funded research studies. The summaries are reliable, up to date and are based on research papers that have already been peer-reviewed by medical and scientific experts. Every stage of the process is carried out in collaboration with members of the public and professionals to ensure the summaries are as useful and usable as possible.

A clinical handbook of signs and symptoms in black and brown skin.

Skin Deep is led by the international medical education team, Don’t Forget the Bubbles (DFTB) and the Royal London Hospital (RLH). The aim is to develop a free, open-access bank of high-quality photographs of medical conditions in a range of skin tones for use by both healthcare professionals and the public.

Racial bias in research impacts a study’s relevancy, validity and reliability, though presently this aspect is not addressed in critical appraisal tools, and consequently appraisers may often not take racial bias into account when assessing a paper’s quality. In response, this appraisal tool has been developed, to support appraisers in explicitly addressing racial bias.

This is a tutorial created by Cardiff University.
By the end of this tutorial you will have:
- Awareness of the issues and consequences of underrepresentation of minoritised ethnic populations in research
- Awareness of the difference between race and genetic ancestry and how this relates to research
By the end of this tutorial you will be able to:
- Apply this awareness to assess and evaluate sources

The United Nations' body for health, looking at the health research agenda, evidence-based policy options, and health trends. Publications include reports and standards.

This NMC publication aims to provide a foundation for good nursing and midwifery practice, and to be a key tool in safeguarding the health and wellbeing of the public.

The ICE Observatory is based in the School of Health Sciences, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences at the University of Surrey, Guildford, UK. It was launched on 5th February 2014 and succeeds the International Centre for Nursing Ethics which was established in 1999 by Verena Tshudin and Geoffrey Hunt.
The overall aim of the International Care Ethics (ICE) Observatory is to engage in research and scholarship that illuminates the importance and complexity of care activities and underpins innovative and effective interventions that develop and sustain ethical care practices. The ICE Observatory acts as an inter-disciplinary, national and international hub of educational, organisational and research expertise and activity to revalue care and promote an in-depth understanding of, and commitment to, ethics in health and social care.

The ICN Code of Ethics for Nurses is a guide for action based on social values and needs.The Code has served as the standard for nurses worldwide since it was first adopted in 1953.

This website aims to provide up to date and reliable information on ethical issues that commonly present to clinical ethics committees or arise in clinical practice. It also provides links to national policy and guidance on ethical issues relating to clinical practice.

The Health & Social Care Information Centre's collection of statistics from across the NHS and social services.

Health and wellbeing survey data collected by an independent, not-for-profit social research organisation.

The major site for UK government statistics: provides averages and overviews.

Data on healthcare at local authority and community levels.

Data and statistics from the World Health Organization.