LibGuides: Health and Wellbeing in Society/Global Health: Databases

Starting points for research

Databases are useful resources to search for good quality subject-specific research and find journal articles on a topic. . Here are some useful subject databases. Unless otherwise specified, you will need your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email) to access them within and outside the university.

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Academic Search database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This international database covers journal articles (and also some books and theses) relating to nursing and applied health.

Further research

These are some more databases that you may find useful in your research. Some cover the social sciences, whereas others focus on health and medicine. Further information on coverage is provided with each database.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of psychology, including psychiatry, pharmacology, and applications in nursing, education, management and criminal justice. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, reports and dissertations from 1887 to date.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections (I to XV) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers access to a range of Health Policy and Public Health journals.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Available through Kanopy: 23 educational videos supporting early years professionals created by Siren Films.
Access the Siren Films videos here. When off campus, please click on the Log in to Montfort icon. You will then need to enter your DMU Single Sign On username and password to access the Kanopy site. If you have previously logged in as a DMU registered member then you may not be required to sign in again.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
British Nursing Index (BNI) with Full Text is a full-text version of the British Nursing Index (BNI), a leading bibliographic database supporting the practice, education, and research for nurses, midwives, and health providers in the UK and the greater nursing community. This full text database provides abstracting and indexing for hundreds of titles, with coverage dating back to 1993. Literature coverage focuses on titles published in the UK, Australia and Canada, plus a selection of important international nursing titles.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Unique source of reliable, up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care, including evidence-based systematic reviews and clinical trials. No username or password required in the United Kingdom.
Social Care Online This link opens in a new window
This site will no longer be updated from January 2023

Collection of information and research on all aspects of social care - from fostering, to mental health, to human resources etc. Provides good access to grey literature e.g. government and charity reports. Unrestricted access.
To use all the features of Social Care Online you will need to set up a free account with the site. This is separate from your DMU Single Sign On account.
AgeInfo This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database of over 50,000 books articles and reports from the specialist collection on Social Gerontology held at the Centre for Policy on Ageing. The site provides information about organisations active in the field of old age and ageing and an international calendar of events about old age and ageing.
Business Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Business Source is a key database for business topics, providing access to the full text of nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, with coverage including virtually all subject areas related to business and economics.
Also includes country economic reports from a range of authoritative sources.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
Topics covered include all levels of education and all educational specialties as well as areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals, for more than 500 books, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to full text journals published by Elsevier. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
Look for the green 'subscribed' icons which indicate full-text availability.
Zetoc This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from 20,000 research journals and 16,000 conference proceedings published per year and held in the British Library from 1993 to date.
Includes an email alerting service, to enable you to keep up-to-date with relevant new articles and papers. All subject fields are covered.

Worksheets for searching databases

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
A guide to the meaning, pronunciation, usage and history of words from across the English-speaking world.

Health and Wellbeing in Society/Global Health: Databases

Starting points for research

Further research

Worksheets for searching databases

Oxford English Dictionary

Kimberlin Library

Connect with the Library