LibGuides: Design Masters: Databases

Artfilms Digital

Starting points for research

Databases are useful resources to search for good quality subject-specific research and find journal articles on a topic. . Here are some useful subject databases. Unless otherwise specified, you will need your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email) to access them within and outside the university.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published since 1973. Includes data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.
Academic Search This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Academic Search database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
A key online database for global business and economics topics, including thousands of full-text journals, company news, country/industry reports and trend reporting.
Business Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Business Source is a key database for business topics, providing access to the full text of nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, with coverage including virtually all subject areas related to business and economics.
Also includes country economic reports from a range of authoritative sources.

Business of Fashion
An essential daily resource for fashion creatives, executives and entrepreneurs which aims to fill the void for an informed, analytical and opinionated point of view on the fashion business.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
This online database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a comprehensive online resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Arts and Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This online database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Asian and European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
This electronic database provides information relating to companies, economies, markets, international trade plus overall business conditions and practices across Asia and Europe.
Black Lives Matter learning resource (Exact Editions) This link opens in a new window
A freely available Black Lives Matter online learning resource, featuring a rich collection of handpicked articles from the digital archives of over 50 different publications.
Emerald Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Gives access to articles from over 120 important academic journal titles in the fields of business, management and economics.
The full-text archives date from 1994 and abstracts from 1989.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central Academic Complete Collection offers e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
Forecasting and trend analysis for style, fashion and design; includes fashion image library and online space for personal creative development.
Insight provides market intelligence and analysis of trends in consumer attitudes, marketing, retail experience and innovation.
Lifestyle & Interiors provides insight, updates and forecasts into interior design, inspiration, and retail intelligence in the lifestyle, hospitality and interiors industries.
You have been given access to the content of WGSN for your own personal, non-commercial and information purpose only. You must not share or distribute such content across social media and any other external platforms.
It is important that you understand that your access and logins are limited to you as an authorised user of De Montfort University and any breach in the use of their content may result in prosecution, damage claims and loss of access to everyone else in the institution.

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
A guide to the meaning, pronunciation, usage and history of words from across the English-speaking world.

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Further research

These are some more databases that you may find useful in your research

JSTOR Arts and Sciences III This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals focussing on the subject areas of performing arts, architecture, art, education, women's studies, film studies, language and literature, linguistics, and music.
Please note current issues of journals are not included.
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Country Life Archive This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living.

Design Masters: Databases

What are databases?

Artfilms Digital

Starting points for research

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)

Further research

Kimberlin Library

Design Masters: Databases

What are databases?

Artfilms Digital

Starting points for research

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)

Further research

Kimberlin Library

Connect with the Library