Fashion & Textiles: Databases

Essential for understanding Black history and culture, this online resource allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent.

This collection includes never-before digitised primary source documents, including personal papers, organisational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera. The collection has a number of key partners like The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London).

Collection of 100 periodicals covering British life in the 19th century. This is a multi-part series covering the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. Series I on New Readerships provides access to close to 100 periodicals for the study of British life in the 19th century - from women to sports and leisure, and from children to humour.

Watch, record, create clips, search for upcoming TV and radio programmes by title or keyword, compile favourite shows into playlists and share them with others. On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email). Only available in the UK.

A comprehensive archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

Explore hundreds of thousands of artworks, artefacts, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.

To access the database, you will first need to verify your status as a DMU student or staff by logging in with your university Single Sign On account. You will then be asked to register a personal account with the resource by using your DMU email address. You will also have to accept the content provider's terms of use before your registration is processed.

If you created a personal account with The Fashion and Race Database during the university's recent trial to the resource, please go to the user registration page and click on the Initialize icon to reactivate your personal account coverage.

The Fashion and Race Database is a dynamic learning platform that examines the history and impact of race in the fashion system and our everyday life. The Fashion and Race and Database provides a roadmap for lasting change in the fashion system, as it offers lessons and resources that diversify how we understand fashion. The database is an invaluable platform for those who agree that it’s time to challenge dominant narratives and harmful practices in fashion.

This resource presents the records of major civil rights organisations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle. Civil rights leaders included are labour leader A. Philip Randolph, the long-time civil rights activist and organiser of the March on Washington, Bayard Rustin, and the papers of the pioneering educator Mary McLeod Bethune. Through records of Claude A. Barnett’s Associated Negro Press, the collection also branches out to cover other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, education, sports and entertainment.

This collection is comprised of records of several important women’s rights organisations: the National Woman’s Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women’s Action Alliance. The organisations were concerned with issues such as employment and employment discrimination, childcare, health care and education.

Kanopy provides access to critically-acclaimed movies, thought-provoking documentaries, award-winning foreign films and lots more.

When off campus, please click on Visit the Montfort Collection and then the Log in to Montfort link. You will then need to enter your DMU Single Sign On account to access the Kanopy site. If you have previously logged in as a DMU registered member then you may not be required to sign in again.

For any titles that are not immediately available to view on the Kanopy site, please complete the Kanopy request form. This will then be reviewed by the relevant subject team to see if a purchase can be approved.

You can watch Kanopy titles on a number of different mobile and TV apps. You can find more information about these different Kanopy apps through the Kanopy support pages.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.

To access the online resource, please click on the Log in via your University or Institution link and then select De Montfort University. You will then be prompted to enter your DMU Single Sign On username and password.

The Subculture Archives is an educational and cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime. From the world's leading collection of youth culture history.

The collection incorporates photographs, ephemera, objects and oral histories celebrating our shared youth culture history.

Access to full text of The Times newspaper from 1785 to 2019.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Edited by Kathryn Sklar and Thomas Dublin.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonisation, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonised to the forefront, this archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

The collection includes audio and video material as well as texts drawn from letters, diaries, newspaper articles and a wide range of publications.

A freely available Black Lives Matter online learning resource, featuring a rich collection of handpicked articles from the digital archives of over 50 different publications.

The Financial Times website provides global corporate, financial and political developments. It includes in depth special reports, company information and market data. If you are a new user, you will need to register for a myFT account which will allow you to personalise the news feeds you follow. There are instructions on how to access FT.com on the library website.

An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Access to full text of The Times newspaper from 1785 to 2019.

Users have to sign up with their DMU email address through the Business of Fashion website to gain access to BoF Professional on and off campus. To activate a complimentary student membership or Student Plus they need to first click here, opt for their preferred membership and then follow the prompted instructions. They will then need to click on the link emailed to them and complete the student membership details asked for (including course, date of graduation etc) to access BOF Professional free-of-charge.

Free access is only available until date of graduation. Staff members experiencing issues will probably have reached their maximum number of years and will need to contact support@businessoffashion.com to extend.

Daily resource for fashion creatives, executives and entrepreneurs, offering an informed, analytical and opinionated point of view on the fashion business. Includes fashion business intelligence on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands.

EBSCO Business Source is a key database for business topics, providing access to the full text of nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, with coverage including virtually all subject areas related to business and economics.

Drapers is a source for authoritative business intelligence for the fashion industry in the UK and Irish Republic. It embraces all elements of this complex sector, from womenswear to menswear to kidswear, from textiles to clothing to footwear, from retailing to wholesaling to manufacturing, and from independents boutiques to national multiples to fast-growing retailers.

Users have to register with their DMU email address through the Drapers website to obtain institutional access on and off campus. There is no automatic connection to the site on campus.

Contains up-to-date news from the world of textiles and fashion.

Requires unique username and password provider by publisher. Please enter your DMU Single Sign On account to view the unique username and password.

An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).

A key resource for detailed financial profiles of UK and Irish companies with powerful search, selection and presentation software.

Detailed market research reports on a wide range of UK market sectors. Also includes information on demographics and trend drivers.

Please note: you may not reproduce or otherwise use the Mintel website or any information therein as an input for any artificial intelligence system ("AI system").

An advertising archive containing over 4.5 million adverts across all types of media. Search by company, brand or sector, or for specific platforms such as TV, press, direct mail, outdoor, internet, online video, cinema or radio.

Statista is a global business data platform. The resource includes insights and facts across 600 industries and 50+ countries. Use it for market, company and country research topics.

World Advertising Research Centre's Advertising and Knowledge Database is a collection of case studies and articles on advertising, marketing and media activity. It includes trend analysis, research reports and strategic marketing guidance.

EBSCO's Academic Search database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Art Full Text is a comprehensive online resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.

This online database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

The Arts Premium Collection encompasses cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive collections in specialist subject areas not covered in more general databases. Subject areas include: Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. With international coverage, and access to the definitive indexes in these fields, the Arts Premium Collection supports academic inquiry and is a rich source for comprehensive arts literature reviews.

Coverage: 1864 - current

Over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published since 1973. Includes data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Contains up-to-date news from the world of textiles and fashion.

Requires unique username and password provider by publisher. Please enter your DMU Single Sign On account to view the unique username and password.

This platform provides online access to over 2,000 full text journals across many different subject areas, including Literature, History, Sociology and Social Policy, Criminology, Mathematics, Environmental Science and Sustainability, Physical Science and Information Science.

Forecasting and trend analysis for style, fashion and design; includes fashion image library and online space for personal creative development.
Insight provides market intelligence and analysis of trends in consumer attitudes, marketing, retail experience and innovation.
Lifestyle & Interiors provides insight, updates and forecasts into interior design, inspiration, and retail intelligence in the lifestyle, hospitality and interiors industries.

Exclusive online access to the Peclers Trend Books subscribed to by DMU Library.

To access for the first time you need to copy the activation code, which is TPFIGD7A, click on the Peclers Plus link, and look for the ‘I’m a student, I have an activation’ registration link on the login screen. Click on this then paste the activation code in and complete the boxes with your details using your DMU email address. You will in future be able to log in using your DMU email address and chosen password. You will need to re-register with a new activation code every six months.
Once into Peclers Plus, click on Trendbooks and then MyBooks to see the books we subscribe to.