Old About Us

About Library and Learning Services 

Our role is to support learning, teaching, research and scholarship across the University. We do this by enabling access to a wide range of information resources (print and electronic); providing a variety of learning and study environments; and offering services which support the development of learning. We also have responsibility for the University’s Archives.

The Kimberlin Library is the main building. We have a bespoke Law Library in the Hugh Aston building. Many of our resources and services are accessible 24 hours a day via the Internet. Our Learning Zones provide spaces for group and individual work, and are equipped with workstations (PC and Mac), power for laptops, plus bookable syndicate rooms with plasma screens, whiteboards and DVD facilities. There are over 650 networked PCs, providing access to a wide range of databases, e-journals, the Internet and email, as well as to applications such as word processing, spreadsheets and Adobe Creative Suite, with printing, scanning and copying facilities incorporated.

Our Just Ask service provides help and information via email and telephone, and is the main contact point for general enquiries about our services and resources. Additional contact details for specific teams and individuals may be found in the Contact us section of these pages.

Library and Learning Services Leadership Team

David Parkes – Director of Library and Learning Services

Alan Brine - Deputy Director and Head of Archives and Resource Management

Louise Buckingam - Head of Learning Development & Support

Amy Jackson and Ruth Stubbings – Head of Library Services

Contact us via Just Ask

As well as our general library provision, the Department also offers the following specialist services and facilities:

• The Centre for Learning and Study Support (CLaSS) supports students at all levels to develop the skills they need to study effectively and improve their grades.
• The Maths Learning Centre (MLC) provides workshops and drop-in sessions to support anyone needing help in understanding any kind of Maths and Statistics.
• Academic Librarians provide support to students in finding appropriate scholarly material, evaluating sources of information, and referencing to approved standards
• Digital Partners provide support to help develop student digital skills using DMU learning technologies, MS365 and Assistive Technologies. 
• Our Archivist is responsible for managing and maintaining the University’s archives and special collections, which are housed in a discrete area of the Kimberlin Library.
• The Disability support team is available to provide assistance to users with a disability, specific learning difference such as dyslexia, or medical condition that affects their ability to study.
• DORA (De Montfort Open Research Archive), an open access repository of DMU’s research outputs.