At University your lecturers will advise you to regularly read journals. A journal is simply a publication published on a regular basis, (weekly, monthly, quarterly). Academic journals contain articles on current research, usually where the author of an article will have carried out some primary research. These are also called scholarly or peer-reviewed journals. Other types of journal include magazines such as the Economist or New Scientist, published on a regular basis they report on current events and research but will not have carried out the research themselves. Trade journals are aimed at professionals in a particular discipline or industry. They report news and trends in a field, but not original research. It is often acceptable to use magazines and trade journals but assignments should not be based solely on popular literature.
Use journals to find:
Journals available in print are available on the Lower Ground Floor of the Kimberlin Library. A wide range of Law journals are held in the Law Library.
They are shelved alphabetically. You can search the Library Catalogue to see if a particular journal is available to browse. If it is it will state that the journals are Available at Periodicals. Details of the volumes held are also given.
Most journals are now published online meaning that they are accessible via the Internet. You can search the e-Resources Portal (see box right) to see if a journal is available online. Your lecturers will tell you which journals you will find most useful, often indicated in your reading lists.
Many journals are available in collections that we call Databases, they tend to be collated within subject areas making them useful resources to search for good quality subject-specific research and finding journal articles on a topic. Use your Subject Guide (pictured left) to find the most useful subject databases for your research. Unless otherwise specified, you will need your Single Sign On username and password (see box right) to access them within and outside the university.
There are several ways in which you can access information to help you find the library materials you need, or link to the resources themselves where they are held electronically. The library webpages contain links to the Library Catalogue, the e-Resources portal,databases and individual Subject Guides for your School.
A good starting point is Library Search, which you will find at the top of the Library and Learning Services Home page.
Library Search is a facility that enables you to find the books, e-books, journals, full-text articles and more from the Library's subscribed-to content. As many resources are being searched in one place it is important to use specific search terms to ensure that relevant results are returned. Use the search box above to explore resources available in your subject area. Remember: if your search is overwhelming you can use subject databases for more targetted results.
An online guide is available on getting the most out of Library Search.
You may have noticed that instead of a traditional paper-based list of books etc. as your reading list you have a list created using our new online system, DMU Resource Lists. Currently all first year lists are on this system and some lists for other years as well. By September 2017 all resource lists will be created using this system. The video below provides a quick introduction to the system and shows you some of its best features.
When you try and access an electronic resource (database, e-book, online journal or article you will often be asked to enter your Single Sign On details.
This is the same username and password you use to log onto the computers or myDMU (see Logging in ... box on the ICT tab).
As you progress in your studies, you can start to use other resources including specific subject Databases to achieve more targeted results. Find those relevant to your area in your Subject Guides.
There are many sources of help in using our resources on the library webpages, some of which are listed in Further Information
The DMU Archve hosts historic information relating to the institution. The Special Collections include historic and other interesting materials relating to a number of subject areas including fashion, local history, art and architecture, photography, yourh work and sports history. Find out more about these resources by clicking on the Archives and Special Collections guide.