Skip to main content

Art Collections: The Christopherson Collection

A guide to De Montfort University’s Art Collections .

The Christopherson Collection

 

The Christopherson Collection provides a snap shot of the best and most innovative work produced by DMU graduates from a range of art and design courses. It has been made possible following a generous legacy left to DMU by Albert Edward Christopherson, a teacher of art and design for thirty-eight years when the university was Leicester College of Art.


Started in 2006, works are selected by Heads of Schools and associated colleagues to ensure that a broad base of experts judge what is original and creative each year. The collection forms a living archive which will allow present and future audiences to follow key developments and trends. It also acts as a teaching resource and display collection, with much of it exhibited on campus or used as examples of best practice at Open Days.

Albert Edward Christopherson

Artworks by Albert Edward Christopherson including landscapes, townscapes, portraits as well as designs for murals, heraldry, greetings cards and public house signs, can be found in the Archives and Special Collections.

From The Christopherson Collection

Orange and silver neckpiece, Nathan Pass, 2010

© Nathan Pass

Geological Forms, Jessica Abrahall, 2015

© Jessica Abrahall

Bodies in Space, Sean Goldthorpe, 2014

© Sean Goldthorpe

Wallpaper (7 Colours), Amy Harman, 2008

© Amy Harman

Norfolk Research Laboratory, Jordan Young, 2013

© Jordan Young