Skip to main content

A-Z Databases and Library E-Resources

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Database
New
Aerial Digimap provides access to some of the highest quality aerial photography available for Great Britain, created and licensed by Getmapping plc. Access is convenient and on-demand to a range of interactive tools, allowing interrogation and analysis of the data online and offline. Data is available to view, query and print in Aerial Roam and available to search and retrieve in Aerial Download.
  • Database
New
Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic index of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covering 1991 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change.
  • Database
New
This archive companion to the Alternative Press Index is a guide to articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, magazines and newspapers. Coverage spans 1969 through 1990.
  • Database
Trial
Free trial to the Bloomsbury Architecture Library provided via ARCLIB. Trial access runs from 12 Aug 2019 to 10 Sep 2019.

Login required: (u) ARCLIB (p) August2019
  • Database
New
Digimap’s Ordnance Survey Collection is the original and definitive service providing a full range of topographic Ordnance Survey data for the UK higher and further education sector. Digimap provides a wide range of tools to help maximise the benefits and value the data can bring to almost every academic discipline.
  • Database
New
Environment Digimap brings easy access to Land Cover data from the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology. Separate datasets are available for 1990, 2000, 2007 and 2015, all national coverages. Also included are Dudley Stamp’s maps of the 1930’s Land Utilisation Survey of Britain.

Make a map of your chosen area of interest using Environment Roam, which also enables the data at any location to be queried, printed and compared side by side with the same data of a different date. Use Environment Download to search and retrieve the data for your area of interest.

The Land Cover data can be used to plan, manage or monitor agriculture, ecology, conservation, forestry, environmental assessment, water supplies, urban spread, transport, telecommunications, recreation and mineral extraction. It is particularly useful when combined with other datasets. Use the land cover data to examine the coincidence of a given species with particular land cover types, make assessments of habitats at risk from a specific development, or look at national distributions of land cover types and how it is affected by other environmental and human factors.

Current examples of the application of the Land Cover Map include detection of changing land cover, landscape management, mapping bracken in the context of health studies (bracken supports ticks carrying human disease), environmental assessments of motorway extensions, and planning of telecommunication lines.
  • Database
New
Geology Digimap offers a wide range of geological map data from the British Geological Survey. Facilities are available to view, interrogate and print maps through an easy-to-use web interface, and can download the geological map data for use in geographical information systems.
  • Database
New
Global Digimap is a new service in development that provides access to global datasets in cartographic styles and downloadable formats that are useful to you.

The service provides the following:

An easy to use interface to allow you to browse, annotate and print global maps. (Coming Soon)
A data download facility to providing access to global datasets for use in GIS software.

Please note that as the service is in development it is subject to change and may be unavailable whilst work is completed.
  • Database
New
Historic Digimap delivers historical Ordnance Survey maps of Great Britain. The Collection is licensed from Landmark Information Group for UK Higher and Further Education.

The service provides easy to use interface to allow you to browse, view and print historical maps.

Historic Digimap is a facility for directly comparing two maps from different times but of the same location. As you pan and zoom one map, the other will follow. This allows comparisons of changes through time.
  • Database
New
This resource presents the records of major civil rights organisations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle. Civil rights leaders included are labour leader A. Philip Randolph, the long-time civil rights activist and organiser of the March on Washington, Bayard Rustin, and the papers of the pioneering educator Mary McLeod Bethune. Through records of Claude A. Barnett’s Associated Negro Press, the collection also branches out to cover other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, education, sports and entertainment.
  • Database
New
This collection is comprised of records of several important women’s rights organisations: the National Woman’s Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women’s Action Alliance. The organisations were concerned with issues such as employment and employment discrimination, childcare, health care and education.
  • Database
New
This collection provides archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content.

Coverage: 1954 - 2015
  • Database
New
Lidar Digimap offers detailed Lidar data from the Environment Agency through a convenient, on-demand web interface. It also offers vertical aerial photography.
  • Database
New
Marine Digimap offers two types of data.

Firstly, raster nautical charts are derived from UK Hydrographic Office paper charts and chart panels. This chart dataset comes in two versions: Raster Charts and Raster Charts XL, which excludes land-based features so you can add your own.

Secondly, Marine Themes vector data covers all UK waters and is a feature rich dataset derived from authoritative material obtained from the UK Hydrographic Offices, as well as comprehensive source data where available. Marine Themes Vector is engineered into logical data layers for easy loading and efficient use in Geographic Information Systems (GIS). Data attributes have been designed with analysis and querying in mind.

All data is licenced by OceanWise.
  • Database
New
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from the scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
  • Video Resource - Click to play
  • Database
New
This collection of streaming video on the SAGE Research Methods platform offers support on the practical skills that you need to successfully complete your research. Key areas such as writing a research proposal, planning and designing a research project, and securing ethical approval are explicitly covered. Practical skills such as project management, writing for publication, presenting work, and building networks are also presented through helpful explanatory videos. This video collection will give you the confidence to successfully navigate your research, take responsibility for your professional development and identify the transferable skills needed to progress your careers.
  • Database
New
Society Digimap allows you to explore a range of demographic data, providing a wealth of census and socio-economic information for Great Britain. The processing required to visualise census and other demographic datasets can be a barrier to use for many people interested in the value of the datasets. By providing these datasets as layers to visualise along with high quality Ordnance Survey data, the rich information can offer valuable insights without the need to learn how to use a GIS.

Currently, the mapping facility, Society Roam is available. A full data download application is under development, which will offer the ability to download both the census data and the corresponding boundaries together.
  • Database
New
After logging in with your DMU Single Sign On credentials, click on the 2018 Anatomy & Physiology icon. From the next screen, click Launch Anatomy & Physiology.
  • Database
New
After logging in with your DMU Single Sign On credentials, click on the 2018 Human Anatomy Atlas icon. From the next screen, click Launch Human Atlas Anatomy.
  • Database
New
Forecasting and trend analysis for style, fashion and design; includes fashion image library and online workspace and design tools for personal creative development.
Insight provides market intelligence and analysis of trends in consumer attitudes, marketing, retail experience and innovation.
Lifestyle & Interiors provides insight, updates and forecasts into interior design, inspiration, and retail intelligence in the lifestyle, hospitality and interiors industries.

Go to the WGSN website to register an account on campus. All registered users have to re-activate their registration on campus after 90 days.
  • Video Resource - Click to play
  • Database
New
Edited by Kathryn Sklar and Thomas Dublin.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonisation, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonised to the forefront, this archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

The collection includes audio and video material as well as texts drawn from letters, diaries, newspaper articles and a wide range of publications.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...