Skip to main content

About Us

Introduction 

Our role is to support learning, teaching, research and scholarship across the University.

We do this by enabling access to a wide range of information resources (print and electronic); providing a variety of learning and study environments; and offering services which support the development of learning. We also have responsibility for the University’s Archive and art collections.

The main Kimberlin Library is open 24 hours a day. We have a bespoke Law Library in the Hugh Aston building. Many of our resources and services are accessible 24 hours a day via the Internet. Our Learning Zones provide spaces for group and individual work, and are equipped with workstations (PC and Mac), power for laptops, plus bookable syndicate rooms with plasma screens, whiteboards and DVD facilities. There are over 650 networked PCs, providing access to a wide range of databases, e-journals, the Internet and email, as well as to applications such as word processing, spreadsheets and Adobe Creative Suite, with printing, scanning and copying facilities incorporated.

Our Just Ask service provides help and information via email and telephone, and is the main contact point for general enquiries about our services and resources. Additional contact details for specific teams and individuals may be found in the “Contact us” section of these pages, including details of subject specialist for faculty support.

As well as our general library provision, the Department also offers the following specialist services and facilities:

  • The Centre for Learning and Study Support (CLaSS) supports students at all levels to develop the skills they need to study effectively and improve their grades.
  • The Maths Learning Centre (MLC) provides workshops and drop-in sessions to support anyone needing help in understanding any kind of Maths and Statistics.
  • Our Archivist is responsible for managing and maintaining the University’s archives and special collections, which are housed in a discrete area of the Kimberlin Library.
  • The Disability support team is available to provide assistance to users with a disability, specific learning difference such as dyslexia, or medical condition that affects their ability to study.
  • DORA (De Montfort Open Research Archive), an open access repository of DMU’s research outputs.

About Mr Kimberlin

Who was Mr. Kimberlin?

The Kimberlin Library is named after a Mr A.H.W. Kimberlin who, as Chairman of the Board of Governors, and in other roles, made a major contribution to the development of the colleges and polytechnic that later became De Montfort University.

Mr. A.H.W. Kimberlin, OBE, FCI, Chairman of the Governing Body, died on 30 March 1976. He had been associated with the Polytechnic and the Colleges from which it was formed since 1947. 

His initial wish to help the then Colleges of Art and Technology arose both from his business interests and as a City Councilor. He became founder Chairman of the Dress Advisory Committee of the Leicester College of Art and Crafts and was awarded the fellowship of the Clothing Institute for a thesis on 'Design in the clothing industry'.

He was appointed to the Order of the British Empire in the 1958 Birthday Honours List in recognition of his work for industry and education for management. He was instrumental in starting in Leicester some of the first management education schemes known in the UK and these led to the formation of what is now the University's School of Management.