Skip to main content Main Header
LLS logo

Library News

New library resource: Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820

by Mitchell Dunkley on 2019-07-09T16:05:00+01:00 | 1 Comment

DMU Library is pleased to announce that is has set up access to a new online database called Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820. The collection is available on and off campus for students and staff to connect to via DMU Single Sign On. The collection is hosted by Alexander Street Press and content is edited by Kathryn Sklar and Thomas Dublin. 

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820; conquest, colonisation, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women's voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonised to the forefront, this archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia. 

The collection includes audio and video material as well as texts drawn from the letters, diaries, newspaper articles and a wide range of publications. 

To access the Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 archive via Alexander Street Press, please click on the following link.


 Add a Comment



Posts: 8
Jina Ali 2019-07-13T21:04:30+01:00

Just checked it out. Very interesting. Excellent resource.


 Reply
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...