Skip to main content Main Header
LLS logo

Library News

New library resources: Alternative Press Index and companion archive

by Mitchell Dunkley on 2019-07-09T09:49:00+01:00 | Comments

DMU Library has added two new major citation indexes to its portfolio of online resources. You can now access the Alternative Press Index and its companion archive on and offsite via DMU Single Sign On. Both resources are hosted on the EBSCOhost platform. 

The Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic index of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covering 1991 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change. With over 400,000 records, the index offers a wide range of modern and emerging theories and practices including LGBT+ / gender studies, communication, mass media, socialism and revolution. Coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and is updated on a quarterly basis. Alternative Press Index covers works by many notable journalists, theorists and writers from a wide variety of concentrations within the fields of alternative and cultural studies. These authors include Seyla Benhabib, Magaret Atwood, Judith Butler, Noam Chomsky and many more. 

The Alternative Press Index Archive is the archive companion to the main index. The archive is a guide to articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, magazines and newspapers. Coverage spans 1969 through 1990. Since 1969, the Alternative Press Index has been recognised as a leading guide to the alternative press in the United States and around the world. It is produced by the Alternative Press Center, one of the oldest self-sustaining alternative media institutions in the US. 

To access the Alternative Press Index via EBSCO, please click on the following link

To access the Alternative Press Index Archive via EBSCO, please click on the following link


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...