Skip to main content

Assistive Technology: Finding Books & Resources

Your starting point to access information on all our library assistive technology software, help and advice.

Finding Books

Library Search

There are many different types of eBooks and other electronic formats that you will come across when using the Library search facilities. 

There are 3 ways to search for eBooks, journals, books and other resources:

What is it? Link to front page (click image)  
Library Search Use Library Search to find books, e-books, journals, full-text articles and more from the Library in one go.
DMU Catalogue Search (PRISM) Use the Library Catalogue to search for books, journals, cds, videos and software in the De Montfort University libraries. You can also renew loans and check the progress of reservations.
e-Resources Portal

Use the the online e-Resources portal to find journals, books, eBooks and more.

 

Library Guides

RefWorks Guide

A short guide on using RefWorks effectively

Ref Works Guide - Click

E-Books

Online support guide to help DMU Library users access e-books

Useful Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Provides full text articles from journals in all subject areas

IEEE Wiley eBooks Library

This eBooks collection spans numerous content areas, including bioengineering, power and energy, and communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.

RefWorks

RefWorks is software designed to allow you to input, organise, manage, retrieve and format lists of references (bibliographies). RefWorks also works with Microsoft Word via a Mac or PC to insert references and create a bibliography (Write-N-Cite).

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

International database covers journal articles (also some books and theses) relating to nursing and applied health.

How to find a Book in the Library (video)

What is RefWorks?

It is Reference Management Software that lets you:

  • Create a database of references imported from online resources such as databases and websites
  • Organise those references into folders
  • Insert references directly into a Word document choosing from a range of referencing styles
  • Create a bibliography of all or a selection of your references.

RefWorks Library Guide

Click here to see the RefWorks Library guide.

Useful Resources

Useful Books

The Study Skills Handbook

If you are serious about succeeding with your studies, The Study Skills Handbook is for you! Stella Cottrell has helped hundreds of thousands of students to make learning easier, faster and more enjoyable. Recognising that we all have our own unique formula for success, her tried and trusted approach allows you to find the key to unlock your potential and develop the skills you need to improve your grades, build your confidence and plan for the future you want.

Eat That Frog!

There's an old saying that if the first thing you do in the morning is to eat a live frog, you'll have the satisfaction of knowing that it's probably the worst thing you'll do all day. Eat That Frog! takes this saying as a metaphor for tackling the most challenging task of your day - the one you are most likely to procrastinate on, but also probably the one that will have the greatest positive impact on your life. Bestselling author Brian Tracy shows how successful people don't try to do everything, but instead focus on the most important tasks. With three vital rules of effective personal time management: decision, discipline and determination, and twenty-one practical and doable steps to help you stop procrastinating, this book will appeal to anyone who wants to get more of those important tasks done - today!

Brilliant Study Skills

An accessible guide to the most important skills a student needs to succeed on any undergraduate or diploma course. This book will give the reader a sound understanding of how they can get the most out of their abilities and apply this to their studies. It will provide instantaneous answers to specific questions on all of the most important areas of academic skills.

Borrow DVDs from the Library...

Breakfast at Tiffany's (DVD)
Trading Places (DVD)
The Revenant (DVD)
The Princess Bride (DVD)
Maleficent (DVD)
Star wars trilogy: Episodes IV, V and VI (DVD)
The Martian (DVD)
The Three Colours Trilogy (DVD)
Metropolis (DVD) - reconstructed and restored